About OAAA
 Home > About OAAA > FOARE > FOARE Scholarship Program

FOARE Scholarship Program

Staff Contact
Tom Smith
(202) 364-7130 

FOARE Scholarship Brochure
2022-2023 FOARE Scholarship Criteria

Submissions for this year are now closed. 

FOARE Scholarship Program - Building a Legacy of Leadership
Over $300,000 in scholarships have been awarded to over 100 students, most of whom have direct connections to the industry. 

Amount of scholarships
The foundation awards four general student scholarships and seven named scholarships consisting of $5,000 each; the Allman Family Business Development, Marketing, and Sales Scholarship Endowment; the Creative Arts/Design Scholarship; the Nancy Fletcher Leadership Scholarship; Reagan Family Scholarship; the Ruth Segal Scholarship; the Vern and Elaine Clark OOH Advertising Industry “Champion” Scholarship; and the Joseph Zukin Jr. Educational Opportunity Scholarship.

The Allman Family Business Development, Marketing, and Sales Scholarship Endowment ($5,000)

The Allman Family Business Development, Marketing, and Sales Scholarship Endowment recognizes the important link between sales, marketing and business development that have been a hallmark of the family’s experience within the industry. Established by Don and Cathy Allman, the scholarship reflects the Allmans’ passion for sales, marketing, and business development and is awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student enrolled in a business management or other business related program with a focus on sales, marketing, and business development.   

Creative Arts/Design Scholarship ($5,000)

FOARE has designated a scholarship for a student enrolled in a creative arts or design program.  To qualify for the scholarship, a student must be enrolled or accepted for an accredited design school program or pursing a course in graphic design studies or a related field and seeking an Associates of Arts (AA) degree, an undergraduate degree, or a graduate degree; or have been accepted into a Master’s or Doctoral program in graphic design or a related field at an accredited design school or other accredited institution. 

Nancy Fletcher Leadership Scholarship ($5,000)
The Nancy Fletcher Leadership Scholarship, in the amount of $5,000, is awarded to a woman with a specific connection to the out of home industry who has demonstrated leadership qualities and skills. The scholarship recognizes the work of Nancy Fletcher, who has served for nearly 28 years as the President and CEO of the Out of Home Advertising Association of America (OAAA). An attorney and former billboard company executive, Ms. Fletcher began her career as a lobbyist in the Minnesota State Legislature. 

The Reagan Family Scholarship Endowment ($5,000)
The Reagan Family Scholarship Endowment is awarded to a qualified graduate student(s) studying city or urban planning or a similar discipline, preferably enrolled at the University of Utah or the University of Texas.  Students enrolled at other academic institutions also are eligible if there is no qualified candidate for the scholarship from the two preferred schools.  The scholarship recognizes the contributions of the Reagan Foundation, a Utah-based non-profit organization, to the outdoor advertising industry.

Ruth Segal Scholarship ($5,000)
FOARE has designated a scholarship for a student studying government affairs, urban affairs, public affairs, or political science. Known as the Ruth Segal Scholarship, the program is named after a long-time member of the Out of Home Advertising Association of America (OAAA) staff, who worked tirelessly to educate federal and state policymakers about the OOH advertising industry. The goal of the scholarship is to encourage the study of issues specifically related to OOH advertising and public affairs.
Vern and Elaine Clark Outdoor Advertising Industry “Champion” Scholarship ($5,000)
The Vern and Elaine Clark Outdoor Advertising Industry “Champion” Scholarship recognizes a student enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate academic program with a connection to the OOH advertising industry who demonstrates through their academic life, community activities, and career goals the skills and talent that made Vern Clark successful in his efforts.

Joseph Zukin Jr. Educational Opportunity Scholarship ($5,000)
The Joseph Zukin Jr. Educational Opportunity Scholarship is presented to any graduate or undergraduate student whose academic record and community activities reflect the entrepreneurial spirit demonstrated by Mr. Zukin in his lifetime. Special consideration is given to applicants from marginalized communities and to students who have an understanding, connection, or relationship to the OOH advertising industry. Candidates for the scholarship will be selected on the basis of their academic performance, career goals, and commitment to the spirit of entrepreneurism and community engagement that distinguished the life of Mr. Zukin

Previous Scholarship Winners


Recently, FOARE surveyed former scholarship winners about why the scholarship was important to them. Brad Mizer, a winner in 2004-2005, provided background about his successful career to date. He is now an equity owner in a billboard company in East Tennessee and serves as VP of Sales.  
Brad said, “The FOARE scholarship gave me confidence that I was in the right field and the encouragement to stay in the outdoor industry. This financial assistance confirmed what I had hoped was true, that I can make a long and rewarding career doing what I love being helping others grow their small business.”